Eagles title Jalen Hurts and 6 different captains for 2022

September 1, 2022

The Eagles have introduced seven captains for the 2022 season as voted on by gamers:

• Jalen Hurts

• Jason Kelce

• Lane Johnson

• Brandon Graham

• Fletcher Cox

• Darius Slay

• Jake Elliott

In Doug Pederson’s final season as head coach, he took away the vote from gamers and named captains himself. Nick Sirianni in his first yr as a head coach allowed gamers to vote. That’s what occurred once more in Yr 2.

Jalen Hurts: The 24-year-old is a captain for the second straight season. No shock. He’s the beginning quarterback and likewise has some pure management means. Gamers started to gravitate towards Hurts even when he was the backup as a rookie in 2020. He’s the youngest of the Eagles’ seven captains.

Jason Kelce: The 34-year-old heart is a captain for the fifth straight season as he enters his twelfth NFL season. Kelce simply returned from an elbow harm/surgical procedure and is anticipated to be prepared for the season opener in Detroit on Sept. 11.

See also  Many uncommon bottle success of 2022 

Lane Johnson: For no matter cause, the Eagles had simply two offensive captains final yr. They add Johnson to the combination in 2022. The veteran proper deal with lastly seems to be fully wholesome and is motivated by lacking the Professional Bowl in 2021.

Fletcher Cox: Like Kelce, that is Cox’s fifth straight season as a captain on this staff. And like Kelce, there’s additionally an opportunity this may very well be Cox’s final season with the Eagles. He’s taking part in the 2022 season on a one-year, $14 million deal. Cox lately mentioned he’s been taking time to understand all the things a bit extra this summer time.


Brandon Graham: One other repeat captain, Graham has been given the honour 4 occasions up to now six seasons. Graham, like Kelce, is 34 and he’s coming off an Achilles harm that ended his 2021 season very early. However Graham has seemed wholesome in coaching camp and the Eagles hope he’s nonetheless acquired it. This yr will probably be Graham’s thirteenth season with the Eagles; he’s the longest-tenured athlete within the metropolis.

See also  Dream Football Rankings 2022: Breasts from top-tier version that called Julio Jones' frustrating period

Darius Slay: The Eagles let Rodney McLeod stroll in free company and Slay has taken his spot as a captain. Slay is coming into his third season with the Eagles and has been as marketed at cornerback. However he’s additionally been a pacesetter. Slay has at all times been glad to assist younger gamers on either side of the ball and it is a good honor for him.

Jake Elliott: The Eagles’ kicker is coming off his greatest skilled season and a Professional Bowl honor. The Eagles’ particular groups captain final season was Alex Singleton, who walked as a free agent.

Right here’s a glance again at year-by-year captains because the Eagles started naming them in 2017:

2017: Carson Wentz, Jason Peters, Malcolm Jenkins, Brandon Graham, Chris Maragos

See also  University football routine, video games 2022: What to see in Week 10, television networks, Saturday first times

2018: Carson Wentz, Jason Kelce, Malcolm Jenkins, Fletcher Cox, Kamu Grugier-Hill

2019: Carson Wentz, Jason Kelce, Malcolm Jenkins, Fletcher Cox, Kamu Grugier-Hill/Duke Riley

2020: Carson Wentz, Jason Kelce, Jason Peters, Fletcher Cox, Brandon Graham, Rodney McLeod, Duke Riley, Craig James

2021: Jalen Hurts, Jason Kelce, Fletcher Cox, Brandon Graham, Rodney McLeod, Alex Singleton

2022: Jalen Hurts, Jason Kelce, Lane Johnson, Fletcher Cox, Brandon Graham, Darius Slay, Jake Elliott

Subscribe to the Eagle Eye podcast

Apple Podcasts | Google Play | Spotify | Stitcher | Art19 | Watch on YouTube