Nobel prize in literature 2022: Salman Rushdie amongst favourites as winner on account of be introduced – stay | Nobel prize in literature

October 6, 2022

Key occasions

Sarah Shaffi

The Nobel for literature has been turned down twice. Boris Pasternak, after accepting it in 1958, was compelled to say no it by the Soviet Union. In 1964, Jean Paul Sartre turned it down as a result of he had persistently declined all official honours.

The livestream has began

And we’re off! You may watch the video on the prime of this liveblog (it’s possible you’ll have to refresh your browser in the event you joined us some time again). Fifteen minutes till the winner is introduced…

Sarah Shaffi

It’s troublesome to foretell a winner for this yr’s prize, provided that there’s a 99.9% probability I’ll be mistaken, however I’ll go forward anyway and say that I believe Margaret Atwood could possibly be in with an opportunity.

My alternative is fairly calculated: it’s unlikely that the academy will award two consecutive prizes to individuals from the identical geographic area, and as final yr’s prize was awarded to Abdulrazak Gurnah, who was born in Zanzibar, that sadly guidelines out quite a few really wonderful African writers. (I’d prefer to be very mistaken right here.)

See also  2022 NFL roster cuts and trades: Dolphins receivers, Browns operating backs amongst deepest items

The final Canadian to win was Alice Munro in 2013, so there’s an extended sufficient hole between wins for the award to go to a different Canadian legend. Plus, Atwood is in her 80s, and if now is just not the time to honour her, when is?

And lastly, Atwood produces work that speaks to our political, cultural and social occasions, however she’s not faddy, one thing the Swedish Academy would absolutely draw back from.

In order that’s my prediction. Apologies to Atwood prematurely, I’m positively mistaken.

Sarah Shaffi

Info and figures

The Nobel prize in literature has been award 114 occasions, to 118 individuals, between 1901 and 2021.

See also  D23 2022: Disney and Pixar’s greatest film trailers and information

The seven “lacking” prizes have been in 1914, 1918, 1935, 1940, 1941, 1942, and 1943. Lots of these years correspond with the 2 world wars, when fewer prizes have been awarded, however the academy can even select to order the prize cash in the event that they discover “not one of the works into consideration” match the goal of honouring “the one who shall have produced within the area of literature essentially the most excellent work in a really perfect course”.

The youngest literature laureate is Rudyard Kipling, who was 41 years outdated when he was awarded the literature prize in 1907, whereas the oldest is Doris Lessing, who was 88 years outdated when she was awarded the prize precisely 100 years later in 2007.

Lessing is one in every of simply 16 girls who’ve received the prize, a dismally small quantity. The prize has additionally been historically Eurocentric, and in 2019 promised to be much less so; that yr it awarded two European writers.

See also  Bellarmine Swimming 2022-23 Season Preview

Lucy Knight

It begins!

The Swedish Academy is now in session to determine this yr’s #NobelPrize in Literature.

Be part of us right here from 13:00 CEST to seek out out who has been awarded this yr’s literature prize!

Photograph: Svenska Akademien

— The Nobel Prize (@NobelPrize) October 6, 2022

Lucy Knight

Earlier years have taught us that any Nobel predictions we make are often very, very mistaken … However that received’t cease us guessing yearly! My cash’s on French creator Michel Houellebecq this yr, who can also be one of many bookies’ favourites.

Lucy Knight

It wouldn’t be proper to do a Nobel prize stay weblog with out sharing the hilarious video of 2007 winner Doris Lessing.

British creator Doris Lessing reacts to Nobel win

Lucy Knight

“All good books are alike in that they’re more true than if that they had actually occurred and after you might be completed studying one you’ll really feel that each one that occurred to you and afterwards all of it belongs to you. ”

– Ernest Hemingway was awarded the 1954 literature prize

— The Nobel Prize (@NobelPrize) October 6, 2022

Sarah Shaffi

Over at The Atlantic, the New Republic’s workers author Alex Shepherd stated it’s a “idiot’s errand” to attempt to predict the winner of the literature prize; admitting he’s acquired it mistaken for seven years in a row.

This yr, as a substitute of winners, he’s picked authors who “have by no means received the prize” and certain received’t this yr, however who’ve “over the previous a number of a long time, constructed up an astonishing and influential physique of labor”.

Shepherd’s first choose is Norwegian novelist and playwright Jon Fosse, who was shortlisted for the Worldwide Booker Prize this yr for A New Title: Septology VI-VII, translated by Damion Searls.

Additionally on Shepherd’s checklist is French author Annie Ernaux, who was final yr’s bookies’ favorite to win, and Ngũgĩ wa Thiong’o, who Shepherd describes as “arguably a very powerful and influential African novelist working at this time”. The 84-year-old recurrently seems on lists of doable winners of the Nobel, however Shepherd says this yr is especially unlikely given the academy awarded an African author, Abdulrazaq Gurnah, in 2021.

Chinese language author Can Xue and Australian creator Gerald Murnane are the ultimate two authors on Shepherd’s checklist.

Lucy Knight

Probably the most highly effective and distinguished storytellers of our time: Toni Morrison, grew to become the primary African American lady to be awarded a #NobelPrize when she obtained the literature prize in 1993.

Keep tuned to seek out out the recipient(s) of the 2022 literature prize!

— The Nobel Prize (@NobelPrize) October 6, 2022

Sarah Shaffi

Extra guidelines

Individuals hoping to see Hilary Mantel, who died final month, win the Nobel prize in literature may need to suppose once more; the principles state that the Nobel Prizes can’t be awarded posthumously.

Since 1974, if a recipient dies after the prize has been introduced, they will nonetheless be awarded it. Beforehand, an individual could possibly be awarded posthumously if that they had already been nominated earlier than 1 February of the identical yr.