APS Publicizes Recipients of the Fall 2022 Prizes and Awards

September 9, 2022

Annually, APS acknowledges excellent achievement in analysis, schooling, and public service. This yr’s fall award recipients, listed under, have been chosen from tons of of nominees from throughout the physics neighborhood. APS congratulates them and applauds their dedication to science.

LemasquerierDaphné Lemasquerier acquired the 2022 Andreas Acrivos Dissertation Award in Fluid Dynamics, which acknowledges distinctive younger scientists who’ve carried out authentic doctoral thesis work of excellent scientific high quality and achievement within the space of fluid dynamics.

She earned the award “for an insightful and complete research, primarily based on progressive and stylish laboratory experiments, numerical evaluation and theoretical modeling, of the non-linear dynamics of Jupiter, together with its shallow vortices, deep jets, and their complicated interactions.”

Lemasquerier—a postdoctoral fellow on the College of Texas—acquired her doctorate from the Institut de Recherche sur les Phénomènes Hors Equilibre in Marseille, France.

MittalVerziccoRajat Mittal and Roberto Verzicco acquired the 2022 Stanley Corrsin Award, which acknowledges a very influential contribution to elementary fluid dynamics.

They earned the award “for seminal and visionary contributions to the event of immersed boundary strategies, and for elegantly making use of these strategies to disclose the physics of all kinds of fluid flows in complicated geometries, together with animal locomotion and coronary heart flows.”

Mittal (left) is a college member at Johns Hopkins College in Maryland. Verzicco is a college member on the Università di Roma “Tor Vergata” in Rome, Italy; the Gran Sasso Science Institute in L’Aquila, Italy; and the College of Twente in Enschede, the Netherlands.

burning plasma teamThe Nationwide Ignition Facility’s (NIF) Burning Plasma Crew, comprised of dozens of collaborators, has acquired the 2022 John Dawson Award for Excellence in Plasma Physics Analysis, which acknowledges achievements in plasma physics analysis.

The group earned the award “for the primary laboratory demonstration of a burning deuterium-tritium plasma the place alpha heating dominates the plasma energetics.”

The group, whose members span establishments, carried out their work on the NIF at Lawrence Livermore Nationwide Laboratory in California.

Photograph: Colorized picture of a NIF “Large Foot” deuterium-tritium implosion, taken on Feb. 7, 2016. Credit score: Don Jedlovec / NIF.

CharlaixElisabeth Charlaix acquired the 2022 Fluid Dynamics Prize, which acknowledges excellent achievement in fluid dynamics analysis.

She earned the award “for a ground-breaking exploration of the liquid-solid interface, main specifically to a quantitative understanding of the Navier slip situation, primarily based on an beautiful floor pressure equipment developed for this objective.”

Charlaix is a college member on the Universite Grenoble Alpes in Grenoble, France.


FernandoRonald Fernando Garcia Ruiz acquired the 2022 Stuart Jay Freedman Award in Experimental Nuclear Physics, which honors an impressive early profession experimentalist in nuclear physics.

He earned the award “for novel research of unique nuclei utilizing precision laser spectroscopy measurements, together with the primary spectroscopy of short-lived radioactive molecules.”

Ruiz is a college member on the Massachusetts Institute of Expertise.


BhattacharjeeAmitava Bhattacharjee acquired the 2022 James Clerk Maxwell Prize for Plasma Physics, which acknowledges excellent contributions to plasma physics broadly.

He earned the award “for seminal theoretical investigations of a variety of elementary plasma processes, together with magnetic reconnection, magnetohydrodynamic turbulence, dynamo motion, and dusty plasmas, and for pioneering contributions to linking laboratory plasmas to house and astrophysical plasmas.”

Bhattacharjee is a college member at Princeton College in New Jersey.

ChristophersonAlison R. Christopherson acquired the Marshall N. Rosenbluth Excellent Doctoral Thesis Award, which acknowledges a younger plasma physicist who has carried out authentic thesis work of excellent scientific high quality and achievement.

She earned the award “for theories of fusion alpha heating and metrics to evaluate proximity to thermonuclear ignition in inertially confined plasmas, and for the event of a novel measurement of scorching electron preheat and its spatial distribution in direct-drive laser fusion.”

Christopherson—a scientist on the Lawrence Livermore Nationwide Laboratory—acquired her doctorate from the College of Rochester in New York.

SquireJonathan Squire acquired the 2022 Thomas H. Stix Award for Excellent Early Profession Contributions to Plasma Physics Analysis, which acknowledges early profession physicists’ contributions to plasma physics analysis.

He earned the award “for theoretical contributions to our understanding of plasma waves and turbulence in astrophysical plasmas and the photo voltaic wind, and for the invention and characterization of a broad class of instabilities in dusty astrophysical plasmas.”

Squire is a analysis fellow on the College of Otago in Dunedin, New Zealand.

See also  Giannis Antetokounmpo's dominance is transcending to EuroBasket 2022 as he appears to guide Greece to medal