Julio Rodriguez Wins Baseball America’s 2022 MLB Rookie of the 12 months

September 27, 2022

Mariners outfielder Julio Rodriguez is Baseball America’s 2022 Main League Rookie of the 12 months, turning into the primary Mariner to ever win the award.

Rodriguez has hit .280/.342/.502 with 27 dwelling runs and 25 stolen bases for Seattle this yr. The 21-year-old’s energy and hitting capability has lengthy been hinted at by his glorious manufacturing throughout his minor league profession, however notably, he’s additionally gotten sooner and sooner. A median runner when he signed, Rodriguez adjusted to middle discipline late in his minor league profession. This yr, he turned the Mariners’ on a regular basis middle fielder whereas exhibiting plus-plus pace.

Rodriguez is the duvet topic of the subsequent challenge of Baseball America, which is able to embody tales on our Main League Participant of the 12 months, Minor League Participant of the 12 months, Minor League Pitcher of the 12 months and MLB Rookie of the 12 months, in addition to items on different gamers who got here near successful these awards.

See also  New Movies February 2022 In Theaters

Individuals who need to buy copies of the subsequent challenge can buy them now.

Baseball America picks one Rookie of the 12 months for all of Main League Baseball annually. Our Rookie of the 12 months is weighted closely towards manufacturing in a participant’s rookie season, however we additionally do try and barely weigh future potential as a part of the award as nicely.

Earlier winners embody Albert Pujols, Derek Jeter, Justin Verlander, Shohei Ohtani and Ronald Acuna.

A whole listing of Baseball America’s Rookie of the 12 months winners is included beneath.

1989 Gregg Olson, RHP, Orioles
1990 Sandy Alomar Jr., C, Indians
1991 Jeff Bagwell, 1B, Astros
1992 Pat Listach, SS, Brewers
1993 Mike Piazza, C, Dodgers
1994 Raul Mondesi, OF, Dodgers
1995 Hideo Nomo, RHP, Dodgers
1996 Derek Jeter, SS, Yankees
1997 Nomar Garciaparra, SS, Pink Sox
1998 Kerry Wooden, RHP, Cubs
1999 Carlos Beltran, OF, Royals
2000 Rafael Furcal, SS/2B, Braves
2001 Albert Pujols, OF/3B/1B, Cardinals
2002 Eric Hinske, 3B, Blue Jays
2003 Brandon Webb, RHP, Diamondbacks
2004 Khalil Greene, SS, Padres
2005 Huston Road, RHP, Athletics
2006 Justin Verlander, RHP, Tigers
2007 Ryan Braun, 3B, Brewers
2008 Geovany Soto, C, Cubs
2009 Andrew McCutchen, OF, Pirates
2010 Jason Heyward, OF, Braves
2011 Jeremy Hellickson, RHP, Rays
2012 Mike Trout, OF, Angels
2013 Jose Fernandez, RHP, Marlins
2014 Jose Abreu, 1B, White Sox
2015 Kris Bryant, 3B, Cubs
2016 Corey Seager, SS, Dodgers
2017 Aaron Decide, OF, Yankees
2018 Shohei Ohtani, RHP/DH, Angels
2019 Pete Alonso, 1B, Mets
2020 Tony Gonsolin, RHP, Dodgers
2021 Jonathan India, 2B, Reds
2022 Julio Rodriguez, OF, Mariners
Julio Rodriguez Photo By Steph Chambers Getty Images (1)

With Historic Extension, Julio Rodriguez Cements His Place As Face Of The Mariners Franchise

For the Mariners, the choice to increase Rodriguez was apparent. Regardless of how difficult the deal turned, it was clear retaining him in Seattle for so long as doable was within the franchise’s greatest curiosity.