UConn Pharmacy College students and College Honored at 2022 Connecticut Pharmacists Affiliation Awards

October 7, 2022

On September 22 the Connecticut Pharmacists Affiliation (CPA) held its 146th annual Awards Banquet. College students, college and alums from the UConn Faculty of Pharmacy had been honored throughout the ceremony with a big selection of recognitions, awards, and scholarships.

Marissa Salvo, Pharm.D., accomplished her function as president of the CPA on the occasion. Salvo is an affiliate scientific professor of pharmacy apply and has a scientific outpatient apply website in inside drugs at UConn Well being in Farmington, Conn. Salvo has been a member of the CPA Board of Administrators since 2014 and was acknowledged as a Fellow of the CPA in its inaugural class in 2019. She was given a commemorative plaque to honor her function as president for the 2021-2022 session, as President-Elect Lydia Tran, Pharm.D., BCPS, was inaugurated.

Sean Jeffery Phil Hritcko
Sean Jeffery L and Phil Hritcko R

Sean M. Jeffery, Pharm.D., BCGP, FASCP, AGSF was awarded the celebrated 2022 Bowl of Hygeia Award. Dean Philip Hritcko introduced Jeffery with the award and commented on his exemplary {qualifications}. “Jeffery has been extraordinarily progressive all through his skilled profession, and he has actively labored to maneuver our occupation ahead by means of his management and repair on varied committees and boards in our state,”  mentioned Hritcko. “As a college member Jeffery has been acknowledged by our college, employees, and college students for his excellent educating and repair. As an example, he has obtained the celebrated instructor of the 12 months and preceptor of the 12 months awards a number of occasions.”

See also  Eagles vs. Cardinals - Recreation Recap - October 9, 2022

Hritcko went on to notice that “2022 marked a very particular 12 months for the affect Jeffery has made on the apply of pharmacy in Connecticut. This 12 months he spearheaded adjustments to the state of Connecticut collaborative drug remedy administration coverage for pharmacists (S.B. 186), which handed throughout the 2022 legislative session. This laws will develop pharmacist apply alternatives in Connecticut whereas mitigating the executive burden on pharmacists in our state.”

Extra Faculty of Pharmacy college awards:

Stefanie Nigro, Pharm.D. and Affiliate Scientific Professor of Pharmacy Follow at UConn was acknowledged as an Elected Board Member At-Giant.

Jennifer Girotto, PharmD, BCPPS, BCIDP and Scientific Professor of Pharmacy Follow was inducted as a 2022 Fellow of the Connecticut Pharmacists Affiliation (FCPA).

Faculty of Pharmacy scholar awards: 

Mariam Zedan Pharm.D. candidate ’24 was awarded the Henry A. Palmer Scholarship.

Isabella Tardy Pharm.D. candidate ’24 was awarded the Margherita Giuliano Scholarship.

Jessica Dillon Pharm.D. candidate ’24 was awarded the Gerard H. Weitzman Scholarship.

Marissa Salvo L and Jacqui Murphy R
Marissa Salvo L and Jacqui Murphy R

Faculty of Pharmacy alumni recognitions:

2022-2023 CPA Board of Administrators:

President-Elect: Julian Koruni, PharmD                   ’07, ‘09

1st Vice President: Eric Halpern, PharmD               ’07, ‘09

Treasurer: Adam Krakowiak, PharmD                      ’15, ’17

Elected Board Members At-Giant

Nicholas LaRiviere, PharmD, BCGP                            ’02, ‘04

Christina Polomoff, PharmD, BCACP, BCGP           ’12, ‘14

Michael Vessicchio, PharmD                                        ’18, ‘20

2022 Award Recipients:

Upsher-Smith Excellence in Innovation Award: Richard Kiley, PharmD        ’08, ‘10

Skilled Pharmacy Efficiency Award: Crystal Garosshen, PharmD       ’05,  ‘07

2022 Fellows of the Connecticut Pharmacists Affiliation (FCPA):

Lisa Bragaw, PharmD                ’90

Al Domeika, RPh.                        ‘96

Karen Hoang, PharmD, BCNP                 ’02, ’04