Congratulations to the 2022 Class of Sustainability, Power, and Environmental (SEE) Ambassadors!

September 22, 2022

First row: Dominica Zhu, Census; Erica Dintaman, NOAA; Commander Lecia Salerno, NOAA; Dr. Derek Manzello, NOAA; Dr. Matthew Lauretta, NOAA; LTJG Luke Evancoe, NOAA. Second row: Chris Doninger, PTO; Greg Gabel, PTO; Adam Yuhas, NIST; Avi Gopstein, NIST; Benjamin Bullock, NIST; David Yashar, NIST; Daybreak Carroll-Amin, NIST. Third row: George Tehan, NIST; Phillip Neuberg, NIST; Saul Roberts, NIST; Susan Cantilli, NIST; Wayne Appenzellar, NIST; Andrew Daniels, NIST. Not pictured: Bernard Brusko, NIST; Philip Kaiser, NIST.

The Sustainability, Power, and Environmental (SEE) Ambassadors program acknowledges particular person Departmental staff for his or her excellent efficiency in implementing distinctive cost-saving tasks and/or applications that assist enhance the Division’s sustainability, vitality and water effectivity, local weather change adaptation, resilience, and environmental efficiency. On behalf of the Division’s Deputy Chief Sustainability Officer, the Workplace of Sustainable Power and Environmental Packages is proud to announce the Division of Commerce 2022 Class of SEE Ambassadors:


  • Dominica Zhu: For her considerate management in supporting the creation and execution of The Alternative Venture’s Pure Surroundings Dash, which engages dozens of private and non-private stakeholders to deal with federally really useful priorities round lowering ocean plastic air pollution, rising consciousness of transportation emissions’ impact on air high quality, and creating markets for recycled supplies. Ms. Zhu has made it her mission to make sure indigenous voices are prioritized concerning climate-related points as their conventional ecological data is essential to biodiversity and ecosystem safety.
See also  Dallas Cowboys Are The First Franchise Price $8 Billion

Nationwide Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)

  • Erica Dintaman: For her distinctive management on local weather points, together with her imaginative and prescient, group, and management in bringing collectively consultants from each NOAA line workplace for NOAA’s Local weather-Prepared Nation initiative, making a cohesive, inclusive imaginative and prescient to ship NOAA’s local weather knowledge and providers to the nation.
  • Commander Lecia Salerno: For her dedication to pursuing a number of modifications onboard NOAA Ship Thomas Jefferson to enhance the vessel’s sustainability, together with implementing a extra sustainable meals waste disposal resolution alongside the Deck and Stewards division; supporting the ship in utilizing a composting firm to attenuate waste despatched to landfill; and main an initiative to change to compostable cups, prep gloves, and meals waste baggage.
  • Dr. Derek Manzello: For demonstrating vital scientific experience and organizational excellence on behalf of NOAA via his management of NOAA’s Coral Reef Watch, a free on-line software that gives a worldwide evaluation of sea floor temperature and outlooks to determine coral reefs which are vulnerable to bleaching.
  • Dr. Matthew Lauretta: For his excellence in explaining advanced ideas concerning the intersection of fishery science and administration to U.S. stakeholders, notably industrial and leisure fishermen, strengthening their understanding of Atlantic bluefin tuna inventory assessments and implications. 
  • LTJG Luke Evancoe: For his management and dedication to facilitating environmental stewardship, together with helping with the three-day cleansing of NOAA Ship Oscar Elton Sette previous to the ship crusing into the protected waters of the Northwestern Hawaiian Islands of Papahanaumokuakea Marine Nationwide Monument; cleansing the ship’s hull is vital to defending the biosecurity, sustainability, and environmental administration of the islands.
See also  Illinois, Jonathan Yaun earn titles

The US Patent and Trademark Workplace

  • Chris Doninger: For main the trouble to eradicate the printed Trademark registration certificates and transition it to an digital format, working tirelessly to shepherd the mission from idea to actuality and devise an answer that labored for Trademark prospects and stakeholders.
  • Greg Gabel: For his technical acumen and persistence in conducting a number of technical proofs of idea to assist the event of the brand new digitally signed digital Trademark registration certificates and display its feasibility.

Nationwide Institute of Requirements and Expertise (NIST)

  • Adam Yuhas: For overseeing the substitute of the roofs on two NIST Gaithersburg lab buildings—representing a mixed 90,000 sq. ft at a value of $2.6M—whereas bettering the sustainability and increasing the life of those two mission-critical analysis services.

The next people, for his or her commendable work collaborating with an structure and engineering agency to develop paperwork that will probably be used as the premise to assemble new analysis laboratory, workplace, and warehouse buildings. These people embrace sustainability and the spirit of Govt Order 14057 to the utmost extent doable as they pursue Management in Power and Environmental Design (LEED) Gold certification for all new building and complete modernization tasks:

  • Avi Gopstein
  • Benjamin Bullock
  • David Yashar
  • Daybreak Carroll-Amin
  • George Tehan
  • Phillip Neuberg
  • Saul Roberts
  • Susan Cantilli
  • Wayne Appenzellar
See also  One of the best performances we noticed on Saturday

The next people, for his or her day by day dedication to offering lively oversight of the NIST Gaithersburg Central Utility Plant (CUP) to optimize operations, bettering vitality effectivity, and maximizing NIST’s vitality {dollars}:

  • Andrew Daniels
  • Bernard Brusko
  • Philip Kaiser