Ten educators named to KDE’s Academics Advisory Council for 2022-2023 – Kentucky Instructor

September 28, 2022

TAC Advisory Council Members Named Graphic 92822

Ten Kentucky public faculty educators have been named to the Kentucky Division of Schooling’s (KDE) Academics Advisory Council (TAC) for the 2022-2023 faculty 12 months, Schooling Commissioner Jason E. Glass introduced Sept. 28.

The council is designed to enhance Kentucky’s academic panorama by offering the commissioner of training with direct enter from school rooms. Bridging the hole between coverage and observe, TAC was created to advise the commissioner on academic priorities so college students of the Commonwealth are well-prepared for any profession they select.

“The voices of our lecturers are essential as we work to form the way forward for training right here in Kentucky,” Glass mentioned. “Too usually lecturers are overlooked of decision-making that instantly impacts them and their school rooms. I imagine within the voices of our educators and I sit up for persevering with to work alongside this council to type a stronger training system for our state.”

The vacancies have been created by seven of the previous members rotating off the council and three others shifting into non-teaching positions. Solely lecturers can serve on the council.

The brand new TAC members embrace:

  • Kennita Ballard, English/language arts, center faculty, Jefferson County
  • Sarah Beard, science and social research, center faculty, Estill County
  • Melanie Callahan, center faculty, Laurel County
  • Carla Criswell, English/language arts, center faculty, Christian County
  • Sharon Collins, household and shopper sciences, center faculty, Warren County
  • Rosa Cubero-Hurley, math, science and world language, elementary faculty, Fayette County
  • Chad Davidson, music, elementary faculty, McCracken County
  • Carla Lawson, kindergarten, elementary faculty, Whitley County
  • Amber Ramirez, English/language arts, highschool, Shelby County
  • Donnie Wilkerson, social research and studying, elementary faculty, Russell County

The ten new members be part of 15 returning members, together with:

  • Erica Deal, English/language arts, elementary faculty, Kentucky Faculty for the Blind
  • Byron Wilson, English/language arts, math and social research, elementary faculty, Kentucky Faculty for the Deaf
  • Kaysin Higgins, elementary faculty, Calloway County
  • Jen Davis, chemistry and STEM, highschool, Butler County
  • Misty Bivens, agriculture, highschool, Larue County
  • April Jackson, particular training, elementary faculty, Hardin County
  • Jamal Stiles, biology, highschool, Washington County
  • Gregory Smith, welding, highschool, Jefferson County
  • Amanda Klare, literacy, elementary faculty, Beechwood Impartial  
  • Susan Cintra, English/language arts, highschool, Madison County
  • Sara Inexperienced, social research, center faculty, Fayette County
  • Jane Modlin, theater and public talking, elementary faculty, Ashland Impartial
  • Charlene Martin, English/language arts, elementary faculty, Paintsville Impartial
  • Scott Osborn, English and media, highschool, Lawrence County
  • Jennifer Stewart, pc and STEAM, elementary faculty, Floyd County

Greater than 100 lecturers from throughout the Commonwealth utilized for a spot on the advisory council. A screening committee reviewed the purposes by prioritizing various content material and specialty areas and categorizing candidates geographically to make sure illustration from the 12 areas of the state. 

All new members will start their three-year time period on the council’s subsequent assembly on Dec. 6.

See also  2022 Air Drive Soccer Fan Enhancements